The Scripps National Spelling Bee receives a small commission from the purchase of any products or services through an affiliate link to the retailer's website.

Best Mystery Books

Adobe

Nothing holds a reader’s attention like a good mystery! We’ve gathered up our favorite middle-grade and young-adult mystery books to share. No matter what your 8- to 13-year-old kids are looking for, there is sure to be a novel here that will keep them engrossed through the thrilling conclusion. These books are an excellent introduction to the genre, and they also are a great way to develop your child’s reasoning skills and attention to detail.

 

Editors’ Choice

The Secret Zoo (Hardcover)


List Price: $16.99 USD
New From: $12.89 USD In Stock
Used from: $11.21 USD In Stock

When Megan goes missing, her brother and their two friends go on an adventure inside the zoo next door to find her. Along the way, they team up with friendly animals and eventually find Megan by following a string of clues. Filled with excitement, intrigue and adventure, this book is a great introduction to both mystery and fantasy for middle-grade readers who love animals.

Contender

Nancy Drew’s search for clues always leads her to puzzles that will challenge your young reader to help solve the mystery, and each book is its own thrilling adventure. This set features the first five books of the classic series. In the first book, “The Secret of the Old Clock,” Nancy discovers that after the death of a wealthy man, his close friends and family were denied inheritance. She suspects that the will can be found in an old clock, and she begins a quest to find it. This timeless choice is a great choice for fourth- to eighth-graders who love mysteries.

Bargain

The Mysterious Benedict Society (The Mysterious Benedict Society (1)) (Paperback)


List Price: $9.99 USD
New From: $6.99 USD In Stock
Used from: $2.38 USD In Stock

To thwart the plans of a mysterious villain called the Sender, the book’s four heroes go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, a school without rules that is full of brilliant students. They resort to using the tunnels below the school, which hold mystery and danger around every corner. This fast-paced mystery thriller will keep you laughing and guessing as you race to the finish — and your young reader definitely won’t see the ending coming.

Also Great

The Shadows (The Books of Elsewhere, Vol. 1) (Hardcover)


List Price: $16.99 USD
New From: $7.59 USD In Stock
Used from: $3.40 USD In Stock

Olive learns she can step into the paintings in her new house, and these portals lead to a world that is a shadow of her own called Elsewhere. Olive befriends a strange boy (as well as many cats) in Elsewhere as she discovers a mysterious dark force threatening her home. This book is perfect for fans of “Coraline” and is a great way for kids 10 and older to explore the mystery-thriller genre.

Also Great

Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer (Hardcover)


List Price: $17.99 USD
New From: $11.49 USD In Stock
Used from: $4.73 USD In Stock

In this novel by John Grisham, Theo gets swept into the middle of a sensational murder trial, and he is the only person who has the knowledge and skills to make sure that justice is served. This kid-appropriate legal thriller is jam-packed with all the excitement you can expect from the genre, and Theo will steal your heart and imagination with his witty comments and sharp intellect. A great choice for 11- to 13-year-olds who are interested in the legal world.

Expert Commentary

“Mysteries help teach kids to think critically and focus on the details,” licensed teacher and mother of three Emily Watts, says. “These are important skills to learn as the brain continues to grow and mature. Mystery plots also typically uncover a motive and get a child to ask the question, ‘Why?’ This genre is critical for learning to identify patterns and build reasoning skills.”

Our Expert Consultant

Emily Watts

Emily Watts is a mother of three (she has two adopted children and one foster child). She also is a licensed teacher with experience educating children in complex life situations. Emily has over seven years of experience in alternative education. She is passionate about children and specializes in helping those who may need a little extra attention or special care.